UTAH DIVISION OF REAL ESTATE: All the pieces You Must Know About Utah DRE

The licensing and regulation of actual property professionals are dealt with by a division or division in every state. The Utah Division of Actual Property is the group answerable for doing this in Utah. Via schooling, licensing, and regulation of actual property, mortgage, and appraisal professionals, the Utah Division of Actual Property seeks to safeguard the general public and advance moral enterprise practices. This text offers you extra details about the Utah Division of Actual Property, conduct that would end in disciplinary motion, Persevering with Training necessities, and license lookup. We additionally study the Utah Division of Actual Property property administration guidelines.

Utah Division of Actual Property Disciplinary Motion

Actual property brokers in Utah could have their licenses suspended or disqualified for a number of causes. All of the potential causes are listed within the Utah Division Code, however a number of behaviors which will end in disciplinary motion embody:

  • Misrepresentation
  • Mismanaging cash
  • Withholding documentation and data
  • Deceptive promoting
  • Dishonest dealings of any variety
  • Misconduct in knowledgeable capability that pertains to character, honesty, integrity, or truthfulness

Moreover, in case you are discovered responsible of a criminal offense or misdemeanor involving fraud, theft, or dishonesty, your license will in all probability be suspended. No matter how the crime pertains to the true property business, this holds.

Failure to reply to the Utah Division of Actual Property inside 10 days, whether or not they’re requesting documentation or anticipating you to look at a listening to or assembly, could end in disciplinary motion as properly. The severest varieties of disciplinary motion embody license revocation or suspension, in addition to probation.

In its place, you possibly can must fulfill a brand new academic requirement or pay a civil wonderful of not more than $5,000 per offense. In these conditions, you do have the choice to ask for company, judicial, or de novo assessment.

Utah Division of Actual Property Persevering with Training

To resume your Utah Division actual property license immediately, full your persevering with schooling necessities. To help you with protecting your license, the entire programs may be completed on-line At Your Tempo. When you full the course, you’ll obtain a reliable certificates of completion, and we’ll mechanically submit a report of your course completion to the Utah Division of Actual Property in your behalf.

Utah Division Actual Property License Renewal Dates and Persevering with Training Necessities

  • The validity of Utah actual property licenses is 2 years.
  • You have got 45 days to resume your license earlier than it expires.
  • Your license’s expiration date is said on the backside, and you may as well examine it on-line within the licensee database maintained by the Utah Division of Actual Property.

You should end all Utah Division persevering with schooling (CE) necessities by the fifteenth day of your renewal month to maintain your license in lively standing. This timing ensures on-time renewal and prevents paying a late charge.

Your persevering with schooling necessities, if it’s your first actual property license renewal, embody:

  • A 12-hour new agent coaching program
  • Three hours of a required course that the Division has accredited.
  • Three hours of obligatory or non-compulsory matters.

Each two-year cycle following your preliminary renewal time period, you will need to full the following 18 CE credit:

  • 6 hours of core matter programs
  • 3 hours of a required course that the Division has accredited.
  • 9 non-compulsory credit score hours

In the event you don’t renew your license earlier than it expires, you have got 30 days to request a late renewal. After that, you will get your license again by doing the next:

  • 24 CE hours, for licenses which can be 31 to six months previous their expiration date
  • 42 CE hours, for licenses which can be 6 to 12 months previous expiration

Actual Property gives CE course packages that fulfill the requirements of the Utah Division of Actual Property to meet your persevering with schooling credit score hours for license renewal.

Replace on Fingerprinting and Background Test Info

To resume an actual property license in Utah, the licensee should undergo a fingerprint background examine and join the FBI’s Rap Again Fingerprint System.

Earlier than reviewing and signing an digital permission kind, licensees should first go to the web site of the Utah Division of Actual Property. An inventory of locations throughout the state the place license holders can adhere to this fingerprinting requirement can also be accessible on the Division’s web site.

Nonetheless, fingerprinting is presently not required for license renewal because of COVID-19 issues and restrictions. When this requirement is reinstated, the Utah Division of Actual Property will let licensees know.

Particulars concerning the last exams

Incomes CE credit towards the renewal of your Utah actual property license is just not contingent upon passing the ultimate examination.

Recurring Course Coverage

A CE course can solely be completed as soon as throughout a renewal time period to depend towards your requirement.

Utah Division of Actual Property License Lookup

Being an actual property agent might be each a worthwhile funding and a enjoyable expertise. This text is meant to help you for those who intend to use for an actual property agent license lookup within the Utah Division. Proceed studying if you would like complete data on the licensing process.

The Length of the Utah Division’s Actual Property Agent Licensing Course of

Though acquiring an actual property license could seem troublesome, it’s easy if sure necessities are met and sure steps are adopted. In Utah, you will need to full 120 hours of pre-licensing coaching earlier than you’ll be able to apply for a license. Actual property possession, contracts, property administration, settlement, federal taxation, math, funds, worth, and state legal guidelines and laws about the true property market within the state of Utah all should be lined within the 120 hours.

You’ll purchase the abilities you want on your chosen job by way of these programs. To place it one other method, it offers you the elemental educational groundwork wanted to reach your chosen skilled path as an actual property agent.

Get your Utah Division Actual Property License Lookup in Some Simple Steps

You should meet the next necessities:

  • You have to be a US citizen and a minimum of 18 years outdated.
  • You should have graduated from highschool or a program of equal standing.
  • You can’t have a felony conviction inside the final 5 years or a theft, fraud, or dishonesty conviction inside the previous three years of the completion of the conviction, the petition, or any incarceration or imprisonment sentence.
  • You might want to be ethical and respectable.

When you have got accomplished the aforementioned necessities, proceed to the steps beneath:

  • Purchase the certificates of completion after finishing 120 hours of pre-licensing instruction.
  • After ending the course, get hold of a grade of a minimum of 70% on the ultimate examination.
  • Passing the state licensing examination is the ultimate step after pre-licensing. Move the examination with 130 multiple-choice questions. You’ll need to pay $59. Ensure you pay for the examination reservation on the identical time.
  • Submit a web based actual property license software inside 90 days.
  • Pay the $157 license value.

The Price of Acquiring a Actual Property License Lookup in Utah Division

As one would possibly count on, a license is required for each occupation. Utah actual property licenses fall beneath the identical class. Nonetheless, the process is just not free, and you will need to spend a set sum of money earlier than your identify seems on the Utah actual property license lookup.

Between $616 and $816 shall be required to acquire an actual property agent license in Utah, which incorporates the license charge ($157), pre-licensing course ($600-$800), and pre-licensing examination ($59).

The Sum of Cash a Actual Property Agent Make in Utah

In Utah, an actual property agent earns residing annually. An annual earnings of roughly $70-83k is the norm.

The variety of purchasers and, clearly, the enterprise you’ll work for have an effect on the wage as properly. To realize extra purchasers, make sure that to all the time improve the standard of your work.

Utah Actual Property Training Waiver Registration and Reciprocity

You may get hold of your Utah Division Actual Property License Lookup with out assembly the entire academic necessities for those who already maintain an actual property license from one other state. You may forego the schooling necessities to acquire your Utah gross sales agent license in case you are a gross sales agent in one other state, and you may forego the schooling necessities to acquire your Utah dealer license in case you are a dealer in one other state.

#1. Get in contact with the Actual Property Division.

Contact the Division of Actual Property to search out out for those who qualify for a license requirement waiver:

Utah Division of Actual Property
Heber M. Wells Constructing
P.O. Field 146711
Salt Lake Metropolis, UT 84114-6711
Cellphone: 801.530.6747
Fax: 801.530.6749

#2. Join lessons that waive the Training Requirement

If you end up ready to enroll in lessons and have obtained a Candidate Training Certifying Doc (schooling waiver) from the Utah Division of Actual Property, you are able to do so immediately.

#3. End the enrollment course of.

We are going to signal and date your Candidate Training Certifying Doc (Training Waiver) and e mail it to you after getting completed the entire wanted programs. When taking the license examination, you will need to deliver your signed and stamped waiver with you.

#4. Accomplish the license take a look at and apply.

A PearsonVUE Take a look at Middle close by can e book your examination. To rearrange your license examination, you will want to know when your course shall be completed.

NOTE: In case your waiver specifies that “State Solely” examinations are required, you have got additional directions for scheduling your examination. Earlier than scheduling your examination, you will need to ship your Basic Examination Waiver to PearsonVUE. To schedule, adhere to the instructions given by the Division of Actual Property.
Lastly, submit your license software by way of the Division of Actual Property web site:

Utah Division of Actual Property Property Administration Guidelines

In keeping with present Utah Division actual property licensing guidelines, property administration is formally thought to be an actual property exercise and necessitates a dealer’s license. Any one who engages in property administration, which incorporates advertising and marketing actual property for lease or lease, discovering potential tenants or lessees, negotiating a lease or rental circumstances, and signing lease or rental agreements, should have a Dealer License. Such actions may be taken by a Gross sales Agent who works for a Dealer.

Are there any exceptions to the requirement {that a} Utah property supervisor maintain an actual property brokers license?

YES. An proprietor who manages their property, a employee for one property proprietor, condominium managers who reside within the residences at a diminished fee, full-time salaried staff of a Owners Affiliation, administration of a resort or motel, or administration actions linked with rental lodging for a interval of fewer than 30 days are exempt from the licensing requirement.

Please get in contact with the Utah Division of Actual Property for additional data on these and different requirements and exceptions for Utah property administration.
All the time make sure that a property supervisor is correctly licensed earlier than appointing them to supervise your rental property in Utah. Utilizing their Licensee Data Search instrument, Utah property managers’ license statuses may be discovered.

How Exhausting Is the Utah Actual Property Examination?

No, it’s not powerful for those who’re prepared, that a lot is evident. The vast majority of college students succeed on their actual property exams, however passing isn’t all the time a given. About 23% of Utah college students must repeat the examination to go.

How Many Questions Is the Utah Actual Property Examination?

140 questions

Each the state and the federal sections of the Utah Actual Property Examination are $59 every. The examination consists of two components (nationwide and state), has 140 questions general, and has a four-hour time restrict.

What Are the Hardest States to Get a Actual Property License Checklist?

In relation to issuing an actual property license, Colorado and Texas prime the checklist of all states. Earlier than receiving an actual property license, every state has academic necessities and an examination that you will need to go.

How A lot Does the Common Realtor Make in Utah?

Actual property brokers that possess this experience make +61.67% greater than the common annual base pay of $84,924 (which they obtain).

What State Do Realtors Make the Most Cash?

The eight states with the best common actual property agent salaries are as follows:

  • New York: $111,800 (common actual property agent wage)
  • Massachusetts: $84,180.
  • Connecticut: $79,780.
  • Alaska: $79,360.
  • Colorado: $76,850.
  • Utah: $75,170.
  • California: $74,140.
  • Texas: $72,830.

What State Has the Highest Fee for Actual Property?

In each the developed world and the US, New York Metropolis has the best common actual property fee fee.

How Many Instances Can You Take the Utah Actual Property Examination?

There isn’t any restriction on what number of occasions chances are you’ll take the take a look at. After ending your pre-license coaching, you have got a 12 months to take the examination and apply on your license. The examination calendar does replenish, so you’ll want to enroll once more as quickly as you’ll be able to for those who don’t go the primary time.

What Is the Passing Rating for the Utah Actual Property Examination?

Passing a rating of 70 is required, and for the dealer examination, a rating of 75 for the salesperson examination. Any rating beneath 70 or 75, with a passing rating of 70 or 75, represents how shut the candidate was to passing relatively than the quantity or proportion of questions they answered appropriately.


A big skilled transfer is to grow to be an actual property dealer in Utah. This superior license allows you to work independently, launch actual property brokerage corporations, and oversee different brokers inside of those organizations. It additionally seems to be incredible on a résumé.

Though acquiring a Utah actual property dealer license is a very simple process, there are a number of processes and necessities you will need to meet earlier than making use of or sitting for the dealer’s examination.